Gor Mahia’s Meddie Kagere Named LG/ SJAK 2017 Footballer Of The Year

  • Home
  • about
  • Gor Mahia’s Meddie Kagere Named LG/ SJAK 2017 Footballer Of The Year

Gor Mahia Striker and Rwandan national Meddie Kagere has been crowned the LG/ Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK) 2017 Footballer of the Year at a colorful ceremony held at the National Museum of Kenya in Nairobi.

Footballer Of The Year
All nominees received KSh 300,000/= courtesy of the the National Sports Fund to help them start a small business of their choice. In addition winners from each category received a gift hamper from KWAL, a DSTV decoder and a return ticket to any part of the country C/O Skyward Express
Winners also received a 49” LG Smart TV (with the exception of MVP Footballer Of The Year Meddie Kagere who received a 55” LG Smart TV), runners-up were awarded a fridge while third place finalist went home with a microwave all courtesy of LG Electronics Easter Africa who are the main sponsors of the event which is part of their Corporate Social Responsibility program (CSR)

Footballer Of The Year
Guest at the event also had the opportunity to participate in a raffle where some lucky participants walked away with LG goodies including a LG 49” TV, refrigerator and a microwave


Footballer Of The Year

Guest at the LG/ SJAK Awards 2017 at the National Museum of Kenya


The Most Valuable Football Player (MVP) 2017-Meddie Kagere (Gor Mahia FC)
Coach of the year-Sam Ssimbwa (Sofapaka FC)
The Golden Boot Award-Massoud Juma (Kariobangi Sharks)
Midfielder of the year-George “Blackberry” Odhiambo (Gor Mahia FC)
Defender of the year-Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia FC)
Golden Gloves (Goal Keeper of the year)-John Ayemba (Kariobangi Sharks)
Young player of the year-Nicholas Kipkirui (Zoo FC)
SJAK Award-Esse Akida (Harambee Starlets)


Golden Glove
1. John Oyemba – Kariobangi Sharks
2. David Juma- Kakamega Homeboyz
3. Patrick Matasi – Posta Rangers

1. Musa Mohammed – Gor Mahia
2. Jockins Atudo- Posta Rangers
3. Godfrey Walusimbi – Gor Mahia

1. George ‘Blackberry’ Odhiambo – Gor Mahia
2. Lawrence Juma- Nzoia Sugar FC
3. Michael Madoya – Zoo FC

New Young Player
1. Nicholas Kipkirui –Zoo FC
2. Vincent Oburu –AFC Leopards
3. Brian Otieno – Nzoia Sugar FC

Golden Boot
1. Masoud Juma – Kariobangi Sharks
2. Meddie Kagere – Gor Mahia
3. Kepha Aswani – Nakumatt FC
4. Jacques Tuyisenge – Gor Mahia
5. Stephen Waruru- Ulinzi Stars

Coach of the year
1. Sam Ssimbwa (Sofapaka)
2. William Muluya (Kariobangi Sharks),
3. Mike Mururi (Kakamega Homeboyz),
4. Sammy Omolo (Posta Rangers)
5. Bernard Mwalala (Nzoia Sugar).

Leave a Comment