Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK) and LG Electronics have partnered to hold the 2018/2019 Football gala. The South Korean Manufacturers have set aside products and Sh4 million for the awards in addition to Sh1.6 million for organisation of the gala.

The 2019 gala caps five years of cooperation between the association and LG that has seen scores of players benefit from products issued during Player of the Month Awards. Having joined hands to host the first gala that did not entail cash awards, LG have taken a bold step to include financial incentive into this event and are happy to support local sports.

“There is a lot of potential in local sports and partnering with SJAK has been part of our CSR initiative aimed at rewarding sporting talent in Kenya. I would love to urge other corporates locally to come on board and promote the youth not only in football but in various sports in the coutry. As LG we seek to build a closer connection with our consumers across the country in various spheres of life that matter to them. This is what has been driving us to try and shape the path of players by boosting their morales'” Maureen Kemunto of LG Electronics said

The event is slated for Monday 19th August 2019 at National Museums of Kenya. SJAK released six nominees for every category but will whittle down the list to three finalists who will grace the podium on 19th.  

Golden Boot

Faruk Shikhalo – Bandari

Justin Ndikumana – Sofapaka

Kevin Omondi – Sony Sugar

Samuel Odhiambo – Western Stima

Morgan Alube – Chemelil Sugar

Omar Adisa – KCB

Defender of the year

Harun Shakava – Gor Mahia

Joash Onyango – Gor Mahia

Faina Jacobs – Sofapaka

Brian Otieno – Bandari

David Owino – Mathare United 

Kelvin Wesonga – Sony Sugar

Midfielder of the year

Abdalla Hassan – Bandari

Cliff Nyakeya – Mathare United

Danson Chetambe – Zoo

Francis Kahata – Gor Mahia

Whyvonne Isuza – AFC Leopards

Boniface Muchiri – Tusker

New Young Player of the year

David Majak – Tusker

Jackson Dwang – Nzoia Sugar

Moses Mudavadi – Bandari

Daniel Sakari – Kakamega Homeboyz

Nixon Omondi – Kariobangi Sharks

Joshua Nyatini – Sony Sugar

Coach of the year

Hassan Oktay – Gor Mahia

Bernard Mwalala – Bandari

John Baraza – Sofapaka

Robert Matano – Tusker

Patrick Odhiambo – Sony Sugar

Francis Kimanzi – Mathare United

Most Valuable Player

Francis Kahata – Gor Mahia

Joash Onyango – Gor Mahia

Umaru Kasumba – Sofapaka

Enosh Ochieng – Ulinzi Stars

Allan Wanga – Kakamega 

Boniface Muchiri

Golden Boot

Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi Stars)

Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Umaru Kasumba (Sofapaka)

Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK)

P.O Box 10295 00100


Leave a Comment